The Story of Pirelli Calendar

The Pirelli Calendar (The Cal) has been created at the beginning of the 1960s by Derek Forsyth, the former Advertising Manager at Pirelli, to optimize the value of the restricted advertising budget. In those years Pirelli used to hand out many gadgets as key chains or paperknives personalized with company logo. Forsyth decided, instead, to allocate the resources on a single object that had a wide appeal. Thus was born the Pirelli calendar.

Pirelli Calendars were published from 1964 to 1974, and those early copies are very rare now, since very few copies were printed (only 4000 each year, according to some rumours) and handed out for free to Pirelli tires dealers, who of course didn’t think of keeping them after having used them for a year, so as to become very hard to find; the few copies still around can reach very high prices.

The production of calendars was suspended in 1975 for various reasons, one of which was the Gulf Crisis, which reduced the gasoline consumption and consequently that of tires. The printing resumed in 1984 up to the present day and it has always been realized by the greatest photographers and the most beautiful and famous models, both in studio or in other locations. The edition of 1986 by Helmut Newton was censored and republished in 2013 for the 50th Anniversary.

Click on the year to see the photos.

2016 by Annie Leibovitz

2015 by Steven Meisel

2014 by Peter Lindbergh & Patrick Demarchelier

2013 by Steve McCurry

2012 by Mario Sorrenti

2011 by Karl Lagerfield

2010 by Terry Richardson

2009 by Peter Beard

2008 by Patrick Demarchelier

2007 by Inez & Vinoodh

2006 by Mert+Marcus

2005 by Patrick Demarchelier

2004 by Nick Knight

2003 by Bruce Weber

2002 by Peter Lindbergh

2001 by Mario Testino

2000 by Annie Leibovitz

1999 by Herb Ritts

1998 by Bruce Weber

1997 by Richard Avedon

1996 by Peter Lindbergh

1995 by Richard Avedon

1994 by Herb Ritts

1993 by John Claridge

1992 by Clive Arrowsmith

1991 by Clive Arrowsmith

1990 by Arthur Elgort

1989 by Joyce Tennyson

1988 by Barry Lategan

1987 by Terence Donovan

1986 by Bert Stern

1986 by Helmut Newton (Censored by Pirelli. Republished on 2013)

1985 by Norman Parkinson

1984 by Uwe Ommer

1975- 1983 Not Published

1974 by Hans Feuer

1973 by Brian Duffy

1972 by Sarah Moon

1971 by Francis Giacobetti

1970 by Francis Giacobetti

1969 by Harry Peccinotti

1968 by Harry Peccinotti

1967 Not Published

1966 by Peter Knapp

1965 by Brian Duffy

1964 by Robert Freeman

1963 by Terence Donovan