UK Music Video Awards 2012 Winners

M.I.A is the big winner at this year’s Music Video Awards, scooping three separate awards for her Bad Girls video. We’ve put together a selection of our favourite music video winners, and a full list of everyone who took home an award this year.

M.I.A wins several awards this year, taking home Video of the Year, Best Pop Video and Best Styling for Bad Girls, directed by Romain Gavras and featuring some serious car stunts. Romain Gavras also wins Best Director. (via)

Best Pop Video UK, in association with 4Music
Best Styling in a Video
Video of the Year
M.I.A – Bad Girls
Director: Romain Gavras, Producer: Khalid Tahhar, Prod co: Iconoclast, Commissioner: Michelle Ann for Interscope, Stylist: Hannah Edwards, Record co: Interscope / XL Recordings

The Shoes win Best Dance Video UK and Best Editing, with their short film for Time to Dance, which features a surprise appearance from a murderous Jake Gyllenhaal.

Best Dance Video UK, in association with Rudeye Dance Agency
Best Editing in a Video, in association with Vanderquest

The Shoes – Time to Dance
Director: Daniel Wolfe, Producers: Lee Groombridge & Dougal Meese, Prod co: Somesuch & Co, Commissioner: Pierre Le Ny for Green United Music, Editor: Tom Lindsay

Recent Mercury winners Alt J win Best Alternative Video with their disturbing short for Breezeblocks. Playing something backwards is hardly a new trick, but director Ellis Bahl lends it an extra level of darkness here.

Best Alternative Video UK
Alt-J – Breezeblocks
Director: Ellis Bahl, Producer: Jessica Birmingham, Prod co: Project Fathom, Commissioner: Connie Meade for Infectious Music

Inspector Norse, directed by Kristoffer Borgli for Todd Terje, tells the tale of a man who loves nothing more than dancing, and also wins Best Budget Dance Video.

Best Dance Video Budget
Todd Terje – Inspector Norse
Director: Kristoffer Borgli, Producer: Kristoffer Borgli, Prod co: FRIEND, Commissioner: Todd Terje

Best Art Direction & Design goes to Justice, for their Canada-directed video for New Lands.

Best Art Direction & Design in a Video
Justice – New Lands
Art Director: Roger Bells, Director: Canada, Producers: Oscar Romagosa for Canada, Arthur Cantin for Partizan, Prod co: Partizan, Record co: Ed Banger/Because Music

Feist wins Best Cinematography for The Bad In Each Other, directed by Martin de Thurah.

Best Cinematography in A Video, in association with Panalux
Feist – The Bad In Each Other
DoP: Kasper Tuxen, Director: Martin de Thurah, Producer: Dom Thomas, Prod co: A+, Record co: Polydor

Best Animation goes to the very deserving Fleet Foxes, for their beautiful video for The Shrine/An Argument, animated by band member Sean Pecknold.

Best Animation in a Video
Fleet Foxes – The Shrine/An Argument
Animation: Sean Pecknold & Britta Johnson, Director: Sean Pecknold, Producer: Aaron Ball, Prod co: Grandchildren, Record co: Sub Pop

Woodkid’s striking black and white video for Run Boy Run wins Best Visual Effects.

Best Visual Effects in a Video
Woodkid – Run Boy Run
VFX: One More Productions, Director: Yoann Lemoine, Producer: Roman Pichon, Prod co: Iconoclast / HSI, Record co: Green United Music